Who is someone? I think that’s a lifelong question and never think it can really be summed up, but here’s a little bit about me.

I live in New York City, but was born and raised in Chicago, a place I’m still quite fond of. I grew up on the city’s famed south side almost 48 years ago. My imagination was vivid. I was always making up stories. I kept the stories in my head until I was 12 years old, and then had the nerve to send a short fictional story to the prestigious Chicago Magazine. Well of course my story was rejected for publication, but the editor showed me some kindness. She said, “It has it’s moments, but it’s not what we’re looking for.” I guess I was really too young to feel rejected, but her words, ‘It has it’s moments’ stuck in  my head and I never stopped writing.

Short stories have a special place in my heart. They were all I had ever written. They are so powerful and last in the mind forever. Novels are like chunks of life that cover a span. I flirted with novels, but didn’t write my first one until I was in my thirties. I enjoy writing contemporary crime stories. Most of my stories have some element of crime, but I’m not the whodunit, locked room kind of fiction writer. My stories revolve around crimes that effect everyday people; street crimes and crimes of passion. I grew up watching all the hour long dramas, from Charlie’s Angels to Homicide: Life on the Street and everything else in between. Reading, I enjoyed Robert B. Parker’s Spencer novels and Elmore Leonard. Unraveling crime strips away the layers of the soul which I find the most interesting part. I do write in other genres such as horror and good old fashioned drama. Nonfiction isn’t off my radar either. I spent several years of my 9 to 5 life in the travel industry and have some travel work in mind as well as tackling a great biography. I must admit, if you couldn’t tell. I’m one of those pop culture boomers.

Thanks for stopping by.

